Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Dr Ilana Webster-Kogen and Dr Phil Alexander: Sounding Jewish In Berlin

Tuesday 16th March | 5:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Conversations On Zoom 35: Tuesday 16 March

Dr Ilana Webster-Kogen
Joe Loss Senior Lecturer in Jewish Music SOAS University of London
&
Dr Philip Alexander
British Academy research fellow at the University of Edinburgh
School of Critical Studies University of Glasgow

In conversation together to discuss Phil’s new book:

Sounding Jewish in Berlin: Klezmer and the Contemporary City exploring the musical diversity of klezmer in Berlin and interrogating some key assumptions about klezmer performance today


Ilana Webster-Kogen
is author of Citizen Azmari: Making Ethiopian Music in Tel Aviv (2018, Wesleyan University Press.)

Philip Alexander is a researcher and teacher and also a busy musician, leading the band Moishe’s Bagel and collaborating regularly with folk and jazz musicians around the UK and beyond.


Tuesday 16th March 2021
09:00 Pacific time / 12.00 Eastern USA / 17:00 UK / 18:00 Western Europe / 19:00 Israel
(The room will open 15 minutes early for greetings and socialising).
Zoom Log-in https://ucla.zoom.us/j/96563339059?pwd=Snl0VGRHRFdFUXFLOUhjVWx4K2V4dz09

FREE

Details

Date:
Tuesday 16th March
Time:
5:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Event Category: